

NSTAC FACT SHEET



OVERVIEW

The President's National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee (NSTAC) provides industry-based analyses and recommendations to the Executive Office of the President (EOP) on how the government can enact policy for, or take actions to, enhance national security and emergency preparedness (NS/EP) telecommunications.

The NSTAC comprises up to 30 presidentially appointed senior executives representing diverse sectors of the telecommunications industry. This committee provides recommendations to the president on matters encompassing telecommunications, information systems, cybersecurity, infrastructure protection, and other NS/EP considerations. The NSTAC meets four times per year to deliberate on its endeavors.

HISTORY AND AUTHORIZATION

In September 1982, President Ronald Reagan created the NSTAC through Executive Order 12382, *President's National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee*, to advise the president on matters regarding NS/EP telecommunications. Four issues prompted the establishment of the NSTAC: (1) the divestiture of AT&T, Inc.; (2) increased government reliance on commercial communications; (3) potential impact of new technologies on NS/EP telecommunications; and (4) the growing importance of command, control, and communications to military and disaster response modernization.

NOTABLE ACCOMPLISHMENTS

The NSTAC's work serves as the foundation for numerous technical reports, presidential recommendations, and NS/EP operational initiatives. Throughout its existence, the NSTAC has explored topics such as network and communication resiliency, security through zero-trust architecture, and the safe and effective integration of information and operational technologies. Many of the NSTAC's recommendations have led to government actions, including:

- National Coordinating Center for Communication (NCC): A public-private coordination center for day-to-day operational NS/EP communications support, NCC continuously monitors national and international incidents and events that may impact emergency communications.
- Telecommunications Service Priority System: The regulatory, administrative, and operational authority that
 enables priority provisioning and restoration of telecommunications services of NS/EP related
 organizations.
- Network Security Information Exchanges (NSIE): Through the NSIE, government and industry members meet bimonthly to voluntarily share information related to threats against critical telecommunications networks. Based on the United States' success with the NSIE model, and its value as an information sharing forum, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom have established NSIE-like groups of their own.
- Information and Communications Technology (ICT) Supply Chain Risk Management Task Force: The government's highest profile public-private partnership addressing ICT supply chain security issues, the task force identifies actionable steps for risk management within the global ICT supply chain.

THE NSTAC AT WORK

POST-QUANTUM CRYPTOGRAPHY

In August 2024, the administration tasked the NSTAC with a new study, *National Preparedness for Post-Quantum Cryptography (PQC)*, to identify barriers to critical infrastructure providers' adoption of PQC standards and provide policy recommendations to the Executive Office of the President on how to reduce these barriers in anticipation of the expansion of quantum computing over the next decade. A subcommittee is currently being formed and the NSTAC expects to vote on a report in August 2025.

BASELINE SECURITY OFFERINGS

In December 2023, the administration assigned the NSTAC to conduct a study on *Principles for Baseline Security Offerings from Cloud Service Providers*. In response, the NSTAC is formulating policy recommendations to enhance cybersecurity across cloud service providers' (CSP) offerings for critical infrastructure clients. The study aims to define essential capabilities that CSPs should offer and suggest as default and without additional cost to customers in critical infrastructure sectors. The final report is expected in January 2025, with a vote scheduled to take place on the February 2025 NSTAC Member Conference Call.

CYBERSECURITY BEST PRACTICES

In March 2024, the NSTAC voted to approve the NSTAC Report to the President on Measuring and Incentivizing the Adoption of Cybersecurity Best Practices. This report provided the Executive Office of the President 12 key findings and 30 recommendations aimed at narrowing the gap between critical infrastructure's current preparedness against cyberattacks and evolving threats through economic incentives, liability reforms, regulatory simplification, and effective cybersecurity measurements.

DYNAMIC SPECTRUM SHARING

In March 2024, the NSTAC voted to approve the NSTAC Letter to the President on Dynamic Spectrum Sharing. In this letter, the NSTAC provided findings and recommendations to guide the administration as the National Spectrum Strategy is implemented. The letter advised on a whole-of-nation approach to advance the national dynamic spectrum framework, including through the establishment of a transparent implementation plan with an aggressive timeline that accommodates both commercial and national security interests.

For more information on the NSTAC's completed studies, visit our publications page.

MEMBERS AND LEADERSHIP

The NSTAC chair and vice chair are appointed by the president from current NSTAC membership. Mr. Scott Charney, Vice President for Security Policy, Microsoft, serves as the NSTAC Chair, and Mr. Jeffrey Storey, Senior Advisor to the Lumen Board and Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Lumen Technologies, serves as the NSTAC Vice Chair.

NSTAC CHAIR

Mr. Scott Charney

Vice President for Security Policy Microsoft

NSTAC VICE CHAIR Mr. Jeffrey Storey

Senior Advisor to the Lumen Board and the CEO

Lumen Technologies, Inc.

Mr. Peter Altabef

Chair and CEO Unisys Corp.

Mr. Johnathon Caldwell

Vice President and General Manager, Military Space Lockheed Martin Space

Mr. Mark Dankberg

Chair, CEO, and Co-Founder Viasat

Ms. Noopur Davis

Executive Vice President and Chief Information Security and Product Privacy Officer Comcast and Comcast Cable

Mr. Matthew Desch

CEO and Member of the Board Iridium Communications, Inc.

Mr. David DeWalt

Founder and Managing Director NightDragon Management Company

Mr. Raymond Dolan

Chair and CEO Cohere Technologies, Inc.

Mr. John Donovan

Lead Independent Director Palo Alto Networks, Inc.

Dr. Joseph Fergus

Founder, President, and CEO Communication Technologies, Inc.

Mr. Patrick Gelsinger

CEO and Member of the Board Intel Corporation

Ms. Lisa Hook

Managing Partner Two Island Partners, LLC

Mr. Jack Huffard

Co-Founder and Member of the Board

Tenable Holdings, Inc.

Ms. Barbara Humpton

President and CEO Siemens USA

Ms. Renée James

Founder, Chair, and CEO Ampere Computing, LLC

Ms. Kimberly Keever

Chief Information Security Officer Cox Communications

Mr. Kyle Malady

CEO

Verizon Business

Mr. Kevin Mandia

Strategic Advisor Google Cloud

Ms. Maria Martinez

Technology Advisor

Mr. Jeffery McElfresh

C00

AT&T Communications

Mr. Bryan Palma

CEO and Member of the Board Trellix

Mr. Neville Ray

President of Technology T-Mobile

Mr. Angel Ruiz

Chair, MediaKind Director, Nsight

Mr. Stephen Schmidt

Chief Security Officer Amazon

Mr. Hock Tan

President, CEO, and Director Broadcom, Inc.

Mr. Corey Thomas

CEO and Chair Rapid7



3